We Love… Mary Spender.


In terms of music style, or even genre, Wiltshire’s Mary Spender is extremely difficult to ‘label’. Luckily enough I don’t care much for labels. So rather than drive myself batshit trying to come up with fancy words that all roughly translate to ‘a little bit of almost everything’, I’ll instead just say this; She’s bloody brilliant. She is blessed with a voice that is frequently – and rightly – compared to the likes of Debbie Harry or Tracy Chapman and the rare ability to make her guitar seem like it’s talking.
It’s fair to say that she has us pretty smitten and it’s only a matter of time before you fall head over heels for her too.

She was kind enough to take some time out of her day to answer a few questions for us.
Here is what she had to say.

Hi Mary, tell us where you hail from.
Salisbury, Wiltshire – however I’m living in Bristol at the moment whilst studying a degree in Music.

What made you decide to be a musician?
I don’t think there was a certain moment when I decided to be a musician, it just felt natural and I couldn’t see myself doing anything else!

Who are your biggest influences?
Other than my favourite musicians such as Joni Mitchell, John Mayer and Tracy Chapman I would consider my family and friends to be my greatest influences, as – although I don’t tell them specifically – I base all my songs on real experiences and people that I know, so without them I don’t think I’d have any songs to sing!

What is your proudest ‘moment’ so far?
When one of the leading British Composers, John Pickard (Professor of Composition at Bristol University) said that my songs weren’t just simple pop songs, but well written, composed and produced pieces of music.

What do you hope to achieve in the future?
I hope to finish my music degree and gain a loyal fan-base who will help my songs succeed.

How would you describe your sound?
A big voice, good guitar skills and a little bit of folk, pop and rock thrown in.

What would you say is wrong/right with music today?
I don’t think there is anything wrong with the music industry, it is what it is. It’s constantly evolving, although sometimes people get stuck with a rather formulaic approach to what sells.
What is right though is that musicians can do it for themselves. It is great that we can get our music out there so easily for people to listen to or buy, and plenty of it is good music. I specifically love the way that songs are being written right now, very emotional – one of those musicians could change your life with that song.

 

And there you have it. I highly recommend that you click here to be directed to her MySpace, where you can hear for yourself just how good she is.
And if, after all of this, you still aren’t convinced that she is completely wonderful, then take a look at the loop-pedal-skills on the video below… We love Mary Spender – you should too.

 

 

This entry was posted in We Love... and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We Love… Mary Spender.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention We Love… Mary Spender. | Tonight We Dance, Tomorrow We Cry. -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

